Recognized Indian Residential Schools

This map represents the original 130 Indian Residential Schools included in the 2007 Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement as well as the seven institutions which were added through Article 12 by Canada and the two schools which were added by the courts, bringing the total number of recognized schools to 139.

List of Recognized Institutions - Map

PDF Version PDF Version of the Indian Residential Schools of Canada map (609 Kb, 1 Page)

Indian Residential Schools of Canada: Religious Affiliations
Institution Name Province/Territory Religious Affiliation
Ahousaht British Columbia United Church
Alberni British Columbia United Church
Anahim Lake (September 1968 to June 1977) British Columbia Non-denominational
Cariboo British Columbia Roman Catholic
Christie British Columbia Roman Catholic
Coqualeetza British Columbia United Church
Cranbrook British Columbia Roman Catholic
Kamloops British Columbia Roman Catholic
Kitimaat British Columbia United Church
Kuper Island British Columbia Roman Catholic
Lejac British Columbia Roman Catholic
Lower Post British Columbia Roman Catholic
Port Simpson British Columbia Anglican
St. George's British Columbia Anglican
St. Mary's British Columbia Roman Catholic
St. Michael's British Columbia Anglican
Sechelt British Columbia Roman Catholic
St. Paul's British Columbia Roman Catholic
Assumption Alberta Roman Catholic
Blue Quills Alberta Roman Catholic
Crowfoot Alberta Roman Catholic
Desmarais Alberta Roman Catholic
Edmonton Alberta United Church
Ermineskin Alberta Roman Catholic
Holy Angels Alberta Roman Catholic
Fort Vermillion Alberta Roman Catholic
Grouard Alberta Roman Catholic
Joussard Alberta Roman Catholic
Lac La Biche Alberta Roman Catholic
Lesser Slave Lake Alberta Anglican
Morley Alberta United Church
Old Sun Alberta Anglican
Red Deer Alberta United Church
Sacred Heart Alberta Roman Catholic
Sarcee Alberta Anglican
St. Albert Alberta Roman Catholic
St. Augustine Alberta Roman Catholic
St. Cyprian Alberta Anglican
St. Joseph's Alberta Roman Catholic
St. Mary's Alberta Roman Catholic
St. Paul's Alberta Anglican
Sturgeon Lake Alberta Roman Catholic
Wabasca Alberta Anglican
Whitefish Lake Alberta Anglican
Beauval Saskatchewan United Church
Battleford (December 1883 to May 1914) Saskatchewan Anglican
Cote (September 1928 to June 1940) Saskatchewan United Church
Crowstand Saskatchewan Presbyterian
File Hills Saskatchewan Presbyterian 1889-1925
United Church 1925-1949
Fort Pelly Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
Gordon's Saskatchewan Anglican
Lac La Ronge Saskatchewan Anglican
Lebret Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
Marieval Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
Muscowequan Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
Prince Albert Saskatchewan Anglican
Regina Saskatchewan Presbyterian
Round Lake Saskatchewan Presbyterian 1884-1926
United Church 1926-1950
St. Anthony's Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
St. Barnabas Saskatchewan Anglican
St. Michael's Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
St. Philip's Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
Sturgeon Landing Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
Thunderchild Saskatchewan Roman Catholic
Assiniboia Manitoba Roman Catholic
Birtle Manitoba Presbyterian
Brandon Manitoba Methodist- 1895-1929
United Church 1929-1970
Roman Catholic 1970-1972
Churchill Vocational Centre Manitoba Non-denominational
Cross Lake Manitoba Roman Catholic
Dauphin Manitoba Anglican
Elkhorn Manitoba Anglican
Fort Alexander Manitoba Roman Catholic
Guy Manitoba Roman Catholic
MacKay Manitoba Anglican
Norway House Manitoba Roman Catholic
Norway House Manitoba United Church
Pine Creek Manitoba Roman Catholic
Portage la Prairie Manitoba Presbyterian 1891-1926
United Church 1926-1969
Sandy Bay Manitoba Roman Catholic
Bishop Horden Hall Ontario Anglican
Cecilia Jeffrey Ontario Presbyterian 1902-1925
United Church 1925-1927
Women's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian 1927-1969
Chapleau Ontario Anglican
Cristal Lake (September 1978 to June 1986) Ontario Mennonite
Fort Frances Ontario Roman Catholic
Fort William Ontario Roman Catholic
McIntosh Ontario Roman Catholic
Mohawk Institute Ontario Anglican
Mount Elgin Ontario Methodist/United Church
Pelican Lake Ontario Anglican
Poplar Hill Ontario Mennonite
St. Anne's Ontario Roman Catholic
St. Mary's Ontario Roman Catholic
Shingwauk Ontario Anglican
Spanish Boys' School Ontario Roman Catholic
Spanish Girls' School Ontario Roman Catholic
Stirland Lake (September 1971 to June 1991) Ontario Mennonite
Wawanosh (January 1875 to August 1892) Ontario Anglican
Amos Québec Roman Catholic
Pointe Bleue Québec Roman Catholic
La Tuque Québec Anglican
Fort George Québec Anglican
Fort George Québec Roman Catholic
Fort George Hostels (September 1975 to June 1978) Québec Non-denominational
Sept-Îles Québec Roman Catholic
Federal Hostel at George River Québec Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Great Whale River Québec Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Payne Bay Québec Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Port Harrison Québec Non-denominational
Mistassini Hostels (September 1971 to June 1978) Québec Non-denominational
Shubenacadie Nova Scotia Roman Catholic
Chesterfield Inlet Nunavut Roman Catholic
Coppermine Nunavut Anglican
Federal Hostel at Pangnirtung Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Broughton Island Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Cape Dorset Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Eskimo Point Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Igloolik Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Baker Lake Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Pond Inlet Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Cambridge Bay Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Lake Harbour Nunavut Non-denominational
Federal Hostel at Belcher Islands Nunavut Non-denominational
Frobisher Bay Nunavut Non-denominational
Aklavik Northwest Territories Roman Catholic
Aklavik Northwest Territories Anglican
Breynat Hall Northwest Territories Roman Catholic
Federal Hostel at Fort Franklin Northwest Territories Non-denominational
Fort McPherson Northwest Territories Anglican
Fort Providence Northwest Territories Roman Catholic
Fort Resolution Northwest Territories Roman Catholic
Fort Simpson Northwest Territories Anglican
Fort Simpson Northwest Territories Roman Catholic
Grandin College Northwest Territories Roman Catholic
Hay River Northwest Territories Anglican
Inuvik Northwest Territories Roman Catholic
Inuvik Northwest Territories Anglican
Yellowknife Northwest Territories Non-denominational
Carcross Yukon Anglican
Coudert Hall Yukon Roman Catholic
Shingle Point Yukon Anglican
St. Paul's Hostel (September 1920 to June 1943) Yukon Anglican
Whitehorse Baptist Yukon Baptist


Did you find what you were looking for?

What was wrong?

You will not receive a reply. Don't include personal information (telephone, email, SIN, financial, medical, or work details).
Maximum 300 characters

Thank you for your feedback

Date modified: